​​Order Birth, Death, and Marriage Certificates Online!Vital Chek Logo

For your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that Kane County Clerk has partnered with to provide you this service; VitalChek Network, Inc. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

Illinois State Statute (410 ILCS 535/25 governing who can be issued a certified copy of a certificate:

  1. Upon the order of a court of competent jurisdiction; or
  2. In case of a birth certificate, upon the specific written request by U.S. Postal Service mail for a certification or certified copy by the person, if of legal age, by a parent or other legal representative of the person to whom the record of birth relates, or by a person having a genealogical interest; or
  3. Upon the specific written request for a certification or certified copy by a department of the state or a municipal corporation of the federal government; or
  4. In case of a death or fetal death certificate, upon specific written request for a certified copy by a person, or his duly authorized agent, having a genealogical, personal or property right interest in the record.

Certified copies of birth records of persons who were born in Kane County may be obtained from the office of the Kane County Clerk. Because of the confidential nature of these records, Illinois Statutes provide that copies of birth records may be obtained only by the person himself (if of legal age), a parent, or other legal representative. Fees for Birth Certificates are $16 for the first copy and $6 for each additional copy of the same record. A total of 3 copies of the same record may be ordered at one time. If additional copies are needed, please contact the County Clerk's Office at 630-232-5950.

Requesting a birth certificate

By Mail:

Mail your request to:

Kane County Clerk, John A. Cunningham
Vital Records
719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. B
Geneva, IL 60134

Include the following items:

In Person:

Come to our office at:

Kane County Clerk
719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. B
Geneva, IL 60134


Aurora Office
5 E. Downer Pl., Suite F
Aurora, IL 60505​

Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri: 8:30am-4:30pm
Wed: 8:30am-8:00pm

Bring the following items with you:

  • Photo Identification (e.g. drivers license, state issued identification, etc.)
  • Cash, check or money order payable to Kane County Clerk, or debit or credit card. An additional $2.50 service fee will be added to any credit or debit card purchases. Please call our office for acceptable debit/credit cards.

Contact VitalChek:

For a $10.00 convenience fee, you can order a Kane County certificate with a credit card by going to www.vitalchek.com. Additional shipping fees may apply.